Dinner at Home

Last night my co-blogger, Ms. Crabby, and her spousal unit came over for a midweek meal.

Menu

Bread Salad with Tomatoes
Linguine with Spinach & Walnut Pesto
Apple Pie

Bread salad with tomatoes

The first recipe I’ve made from this book my sister gave me for Christmas:

It’s a self-published cookbook with profiles of Edmonton area food producers who sell at farmers markets.

The recipe calls for heirloom tomatoes – not available this time of year, so I used some local hothouse tomatoes in various colours. You sprinkle with salt and set aside.

Then you rip up some “rustic” bread and toast it in the oven. Put in a bowl and liberally splash with olive oil and balsamic vinegar. The recipe also calls for flax seed oil which I omitted. I didn’t want to buy it because it’s expensive and not something I see myself using much (have you noticed how flax is everywhere these days? Like chipotle. Or like oat bran used to be about 20 years ago but you hardly see anymore). Sorry, back on topic.

Toss in the salty tomatoes (and the tomato water that accumulates in the bowl) and let the bread soak everything up for about 15 minutes. Top with some shaved cheese and fresh basil.

I know you had issues with the soggy bread, Crabby. I liked the salad, but to tell you the truth, I’m not sure I would make this recipe again – at least not the same way. I think I might add the tomatoes just before serving so the bread is still crisp.

Linguine with spinach & walnut pesto

I had a lot spinach I needed to use (spinach salad just doesn’t use it up fast enough). The recipe was on-line.

Toast some walnut halves and whole cloves of garlic in a pan with a little bit of olive oil. Add salt. Save some of this mixture as a garnish (or just eat it all right now ’cause it’s so delicious and the smell of garlic sautéing is guaranteed to make you hungry).

Wilt fresh spinach in a skillet. Throw everything in the blender (the recipe says food processor but I’ve never owned one). Add some olive oil (and water if necessary) and whiz away. Stir in freshly grated parmesan.

Toss with Linguine (or spaghetti or whatever) and some reserved pasta water. Top with the walnuts you set aside if you didn’t eat them.

Apple Pie

Pretty standard recipe. Apples, white and brown sugar, cornstarch, cinnamon, nutmeg, a generous squeeze of lemon juice and some grated rind. Let it sit in the bowl for a while to get all juicy before you put it in the crust.

Plenty of leftovers (I had pie for breakfast!).

Posted by Jean Poutine

Leave a Reply

