Dinner: Pulled Pork

Pork loins were on sale at the grocery store this week so I picked one up to make pulled pork sandwiches. Perfect comfort food for a cold day (damn you, spring snowstorm!)

Like much of what I make, pulled pork is really simple – all you do is slow cook pork in barbecue sauce until it’s falling-apart tender. I’ve made it a couple of times before but I wasn’t satisfied with the recipe I was using – not enough flavour in the sauce – so today I just winged it using stuff I had on hand. If you have a favourite barbecue sauce recipe you can use that, or if you’re not feeling ambitious, you can use your favourite commercial barbecue sauce.

Here’s the way I made it today (I’m just guessing about the quantities – I didn’t measure anything):

Sauté an onion (finely chopped) and 3 cloves of garlic in oil until transparent. I would have added a large can of tomatoes (790 ml) but the can I thought I had in my pantry wasn’t there, so I used about the same amount of homemade tomato sauce I had in the freezer. Add brown sugar (1/2 cup), vinegar (1/2 cup) (cider vinegar would have been better but I didn’t think of it), water (1/2 cup), tomato paste (2 tablespoons), hot Indian chili powder (mirch) (about a tablespoon), regular chili powder (2 tablespoons), dry mustard (1 tablespoon), ground coriander (1 tablespoon), Worcestershire sauce (1 tablespoon), 2 bay leaves. Stir over medium heat until it comes to a boil – turn down to a simmer.

Season a pork loin (about 3 pounds) with salt and pepper and brown it in some oil in a Dutch oven. Pour the barbecue sauce over the pork – there should be enough to cover it.

Let simmer over low heat until tender (about 4 hours) or put in a slow cooker on low setting for about 8 hours.

Remove the pork from the sauce and let it stand on a plate for about 10 minutes. In the meantime, bring the sauce to a boil and let it reduce for about 10 minutes. Discard the bay leaves.

Using two forks, shred (pull) the pork. Add to the sauce and simmer until heated through.

Pile high on buttered buns and garnish with chopped green onion.

Posted by Jean Poutine

One thought on “Dinner: Pulled Pork

Leave a Reply

