Rhubarb

I harvested my first crop of rhubarb this weekend. This is when rhubarb is at its best – early in the season when the stalks are ripe but before they get too big and woody

…and before the hobos steal it (you laugh, but I used to have three plants – now I only have two).

Do you have any rhubarb recipes you like, KC? I’m always on the lookout for new ways to use rhubarb even though I have this cookbook:

It’s not a bad book, but I’m dismayed that many of the cake recipes call for cake mix.

Last night I made a simple crisp

and this morning, as you know, I made some wonderfully light rhubarb muffins.

Here’s the best recipe I know for rhubarb – I don’t think you’ll find it in a book:

  1. Be really young, like 8 or 4 years old
  2. Pull a stalk of rhubarb from the garden
  3. Dip the end in the sugarbowl
  4. Eat the sugar-coated end
  5. Repeat steps 3 and 4
  6. Don’t let mom catch you

Posted by Jean Poutine

One thought on “Rhubarb

  1. TS gave me a recipe for Rhubarb Lemonade. I will give you a copy. It is really good if you have lots of rhubarb.

Leave a Reply

