Pizza Party

For the past 3 years I have wanted to go to Treestone to buy the frozen pizza dough and make some delicious pizza. We go there almost every Saturday to buy bread and we always seem to forget to buy dough. This past weekend boyfriend’s niece and nephew were visiting from BC so we made a plan to make Treestone pizza. It is amazing when we make a plan – we actually bought the pizza dough. The instructions said to leave the dough at room temperature for 3 hours before rolling it out. I found it took a bit longer, but our condo is always so cold, so no surprise there.

We decided to make two pizzas: one for the niece and me and one for the nephew and boyfriend.

The kids rolled it out easily. Maybe a little too easily as one of the pizzas ended up having a huge crust (scroll to last picture to see this result).

One of the only instructions was to not load the pizza with too many toppings,

so we only had Genova salami (spicy and mild), ham, bocconcini, cheddar, mozzarella, mushrooms, tomatoes, and basil,

and red onions and olives (I just don’t understand the concept of moderation).

Of course I forgot to take a picture of the first pizza before I put it in the oven. I did remember to take a photo of the other one before I put it in the oven. My half is on the left. It has lots of cheese and basil. Niece’s in on the right. It was mainly ham and cheese.

It only took 16 minutes to cook and about 6 minutes to eat.

Ok… I lied. I forgot to take a photo of the second pizza before I put it in the oven. Nephew had to remind me. Nephew’s is on the left. It has tomato, ham, red onion and cheese. Boyfriend’s is on the right. It is an olive, red onion, salami, tomato, basil and cheese pizza. For once it appears boyfriend has a bigger problem with moderation than I do.

I would like to offer a few words of advice. Put the basil leaves under the cheese. If you don’t, they dehydrate and are easily choked on. Note the enlarged crust.

Everyone loved the pizza. It was fun and easy to make. It was also tasty to eat and that, JP, is a winning combination in my books.

Posted by King Crabby

2 thoughts on “Pizza Party

  1. Where are the pix of the kids stuffing their faces? It’s neat that everyone got to customize their own pizza half. I’ve been wanting to try Treestone’s frozen dough too.

Leave a Reply

