I can taste the fresh veggies already

Jean, I’m sorry I haven’t posted recently. Boyfriend went to a conference and took our camera. I was going to make a post without pictures, but for once I didn’t have much to say. I have been busy with another passion: gardening! I went to the garden on Sunday and there were a couple of seedlings poking through the ground. Then I went today after work and there were dozens. I know there are weeks and months until harvest time, but I can’t help getting excited. We planted tomatoes, peas, chard, beets, onions, mustard greens, salad mix, spinach, beans and carrots.

Here’s the plot. Check out all those seedlings.

This bean was the first seedling I saw Sunday.

Here are the beets. Did I tell you someone stole a bunch of my beets last year? They ripped off the greens and left them in my garden wilted. That was a double slap in the face as they stole my beets and wasted perfectly good greens. When I saw what happened I promptly dug up the rest of the beets just in case the thief decided to come back.

Here are the onions. I won’t bore you with more photos of my garden, but I have lots more if you want to come over for a slide show. I also planted marigolds around the edge of the garden to keep deer and other critters from eating my vegetables.

I know you will not think this is a food post, but the garden provides the majority of vegetables I eat in the summer, therefore I must post this to provide background for all the wonderful creations I make in the summer.

Posted by King Crabby

5 thoughts on “I can taste the fresh veggies already

  1. GOOD FOR YOU! I ma going to post my garden progress soon, too. I love gardening – but do not have a plot PER SE…. yours looks incredible. Standing ovation. I love seeing the little seedlings rear their delicate little heads.
    🙂
    Valerie

Leave a Reply

