I’m Shopping in the Rain

I hope you and your Guides are warm and dry, Crabby. It’s been raining here. A lot.

On Sunday I told my mom I’d come over during the week to make a big pot of soup. I looked up farmers markets to find one that was open mid-week and the Beverley Towne market (118th Ave. and 40th St.) on Tuesday from 4 to 8 pm was the only one that worked for me. Since it’s way far, I decided to amortize my trip by visiting a few thrift stores out that way and going to a cheap movie at Movies 12 (Splice – creepy!). When I got out of the movie it was barely raining, but by time I drove a few blocks the rain was coming down so hard the windshield wipers could barely keep up. I stopped in at Dutch Treats to buy a free-range chicken, then drove to the market. I sat in the car awhile thinking I could wait out the rain, but it didn’t seem to be stopping so I just went for it. I popped the trunk and searched for the umbrella I always keep there, but I couldn’t find it.

Vendors huddled under their awnings. You had to be very careful not to stand too close to the edge of a tent because occasionally a whole bunch of water would come cascading down without warning.

I got some peas, carrots, beets, onions, tomatoes, lettuce, raspberries, garlic scapes (which I’ve never used before), and some bread and cinnamon buns from The Cinnamon Girl (I bet she’s sick of people singing that song at her).

By time I was done it had stopped raining and a small patch of blue sky was opening up in the distance.

My umbrella was safe and dry at home.

All this rain has been really good for your potato garden, Crabby:

Posted by Jean Poutine

Leave a Reply

