Sikh Temple

Truly Scrumptious here. You may remember me from the Pagan Perogy Party. I am now a contributor, so you will see my scrumptious posts from time to time.

This was a food encounter of the serendipitous kind. The Man With Whom I Keep Company, my niece, and I were driving past the Nanaksar Gurdwara Gursikh temple north of Edmonton the other day, when I cried out (as I often do) “Stop! I must take photos!”

The building is an amazing structure built by volunteers and entirely covered in tile. I was clicking photos of the front entrance when a man invited us in. He rounded up three delightful children to be our guides through the temple. We were asked to remove our shoes and wash our hands, and were given head coverings to wear. We were led on a fascinating tour and best of all, we were invited to eat! A wedding feast was being prepared in gigantic pots in the temple’s kitchen.

Our diminutive tour guides dished up huge food trays of exotic comestibles for us and we sat down to a vegetarian feast of Punjabi food: Matar Paneer, Aloo Gobi, Chana Masala, Roomali Roti, Raita, and Kheer.

The Man With Whom I Keep Company was thrilled to find that the dinnerware was Melmac.

We were then treated to Masala Chai and a plate of sweets: Jalebi, Besan Ladoo, Boondi Ladoo, and Carrot Halva (I think – my notes were all blurred with ghee).

We left happy and satisfied, just like the drain cover in the temple yard.

Posted by Truly Scrumptious

2 thoughts on “Sikh Temple

  1. I am so jealous. I am going to have to stop by and take photos and cross my fingers that they will invite me in. Wonderful first post!

Leave a Reply

