Waffle Wednesday

As you will recall, Jean, a little over a month ago I posted that I had an Eva Sweet waffle. I went to work the next day and bragged to all my co-workers how delicious they were.

Since my office is in the south-east, only one of my co-workers had heard of Eva Sweet and he rarely has meetings downtown. He had the genius idea of asking if they would be willing to come to our office after their shift downtown. Thus was “Waffle Wednesday” born. For weeks all anyone at the office could talk about was waffles.

He was scheduled to arrive around 2:30 pm, but when I went outside at that time there were 20 people waiting and no waffle truck. The waffle mob started to panic. Is the waffle truck coming? Do you think he’s lost? Someone saw him drive by and the organizer of Waffle Wednesday started running after the truck. Eva Sweet had turned into the wrong parking lot. Gasp. Instantly someone got in their car to chase him down and another person called 411 to get his phone number. In the end, the waffle truck arrived and mouths started salivating when he cranked up the waffle makers.

There were so many combinations to choose from – cinnamon, maple and vanilla waffles; for toppings you could get whipped cream, caramel, strawberry, blueberry, raspberry or maple syrup. I had the vanilla waffle with whipped cream and caramel sauce – just the right amount of sweetness for my liking. The waffle was crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside. The caramel sauce was so silky I could’ve had a cup of it to go. Hardly anyone at the office got the same combination of toppings.

Our office manager had strawberry and whipped cream.

Jane Fondant just had whipped cream.

Our correspondent Truly Scrumptious had hers with whipped cream and blueberry.

We invited friends, family and work neighbours to join us, which is why I invited you, JP. Did you get whipped cream on yours? I can’t tell by the photo, but I have never known you to pass up whipped cream.

I just noticed that we both posted photos of each other eating today. You look very surprised in this photograph, but the look works for you.

Maybe I will have to get a job downtown so everyday could be Waffle Wednesday.

Posted by King Crabby

2 thoughts on “Waffle Wednesday

  1. Although I was told about Waffle Wednesday, I promptly forgot. And they look sooo delicious! Will the event be repeated, perhaps next month?

Leave a Reply

