West Coast Excursion: Part II

I thought I had better get Part II of my west coast trip onto the blog before I forgot the details. This is especially for you, King Crabby, since you accused me of “fancy pants” island living in my Part I. This food experience was many things, but fancy pants it was not.

The Man With Whom I Keep Company and I were introduced to Duffin’s Donuts by Friend GC, who lives a stone’s throw from Duffin’s in Vancouver.

Duffin’s Donuts is a neighborhood fast food hangout – very interesting clientele, very basic decor (mostly consisting of abundant signage), pretty darn good food,  and very affordable.

If Duffin’s Donuts don’t have it, you probably don’t need it. It is fast food from an assortment of countries: Vietnam, Cambodia, China, Japan, Mexico, El Salvador and probably a few that I missed.  And then there are some good old North American standards: burgers, fried chicken, ice cream, and of course, donuts. To find what you want to eat you just sort of walk around the place, look in display cases and look at the sign boards, try to deal with sensory overload, and then order at the front counter.

Perhaps you would like some Chinese food – just browse the display case:

Or check out the Chinese menu board (it includes such delights as Szechuan Shrimp, Wonton Soup, Chicken Curry, Kung Pow Chicken, and a Japanese offering of Chicken Teriyaki. Or perhaps you would like some fried chicken (see poster to the right of the ice cream menu). And of course, you can’t miss the ice cream selection (24 and more flavors).

You can also peruse the Latin American offerings: maybe some Pupusas and Empanadas for you? But don’t forget the fried chicken (poster to the right again), and why not have some bubble tea?

And while you’re at it, check out the Asian bean desserts. They look very pretty and jewel-like in their rotating display case.

Vietnamese Subs and Mexican Tortas are a specialty. You can also get burritos and less adventurous subs.

And if you are not feeling adventurous at all, you can go for burgers and fries, or fish and chips, or maybe some poutine. They are open 24 hours a day 7 days a week, so you can also order up some breakfast: how about some bacon and eggs and hash browns? Or maybe some pancakes?

And don’t forget its namesake: there are plenty of trans fat-free donuts, although we were there late at night so the numbers of donuts were dwindling.

We both decided to go with the specialties: a Vietnamese Sub and a Mexican Torta. They were delicious: a warm crusty roll with lots of fresh crunchy veggies and cilantro, and yummy saucy chicken.

We figured we should finish off with a few offerings from the donut case: a glazed sour cream (my favorite), a chocolate dipped/custard filled, an apple fritter, and a coconut cake donut. Our total bill for the meal, including drinks (juices from the display case) was under $20.00 for the two of us.

If you prefer fancy pants dining, or if you have trouble making decisions, Duffin’s Donuts is not for you. But if you’d like a cultural experience in fast food, give it a try the next time you’re in Vancouver.

Posted by Truly Scrumptious.

4 thoughts on “West Coast Excursion: Part II

  1. Uh uh, if it doesn’t say ice cream, it’s not ice cream. What the hell is “soft serve”? Sounds like me playing tennis. That said, I want a Duffin’s in my neighborhood. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve awakened in the night craving a torta followed by chè ba màu.

  2. I was going to say you’re killing me with part 2 of your west coast trip…. but, I can live without fast food. I try to as a member of Slow Food… and the specific choices I have made. But, who could not appreciate the fun donuts? I was salivating at the apple fritter. Then I slapped myself out of it. (kind of)
    🙂
    valerie

    • That’s why we went for the sub and torta, and they were great and fresh – I’d order them again. Word is that MSG plays a role in some of their food and there are definitely some items that are more suspect than others. The other side of the world from slow food for sure!

  3. Probably a good thing I didn’t know this place existed when I was going to UBC. Otherwise I might have gained the freshman 85. I used to work a few block from there. Excellent post, not fancy pants at all.

Leave a Reply

