King Crabby Kitchen Nightmares

Greetings Friends,

It’s a very rainy west coast day. I am sitting on the couch with Goucha and sipping a cup of my favourite Silk Road Tea, Philosopher’s Brew. Although the west coast might seem like it is all sunshine and lollipops, I must warn you that what you are about to see is very disturbing. The Husband had the task of finding us our new home in Victoria while I was wrapping things up in Edmonton. He told me rented a two bedroom located in Oak Bay. It was close to bus routes and walking distance from shops and the beach. It sounded wonderful, and then I saw the kitchen. It is the dreaded apartment, galley kitchen despised by home cooks.

There is no dishwasher… not true… king crabby is the dishwasher. There is no counter space, there is only a single sink and the appliances are apartment sized.

I am sorry for the crappy pictures, but due to the small kitchen it was difficult to take photos. I thought the oven/stove was regular sized at first because it had four burners, but then I went to put things in the oven. I was wrong, oh was I wrong. The first time I went to use the oven the temperature knob broke off in my hand. Now we have a new knob, but the oven has only one temperature, smoking hot.

Those are two small baking dishes in the oven. One is an 8 by 8 and the other is a 8 by 10. I can not fit them into the oven at the same time. Half of my baking sheets are too large to fit in the oven.

At first I didn’t mind the size of the fridge, but on day two of my new west coast life I went to put a bottle of wine in the fridge (standing up) and gasp… it didn’t fit. And you know how crabby, king crabby gets when she can’t get her wine on.

Also the freezer is tiny. It is a good thing I didn’t put my freezer in storage. Instead I put it in the dinning area.

It has been great. I use it as extra counter space and I have it half full with west coast food goodness. The good news is this place is temporary until we sell the place in Edmonton and find a permanent place to live in Victoria. Until then I will solider on and try not to lose my temper too many times.

Posted by King Crabby

3 thoughts on “King Crabby Kitchen Nightmares

  1. Oh, I’m so sorry for you and your narrow little, non-functioning kitchen! You will obviously have to drink a lot of wine since it won’t fit in the fridge. And maybe make a lot of pizzas in your 500 degree oven. I am really going to miss the huge kitchen in the vacation home we’ve been staying at in Newfoundland, complete with dish washer and pantry and separate sink room (I will be posting photos soon). Although I do miss aspects of my cute little dishwasherless Edmonton kitchen. And I’ve been thinking about where a dishwasher could fit there…

Leave a Reply

